The Brimstone Aggrandizement
Transcending Obscurity Records

TLDR: Traditional death metal the Swedish way.

Review: Rogga Johansson is an active man and Echelon is yet another project by him. But he’s not the only veteran here, the most notable other being vocalist Dave Ingram. As you can guess by now, the name of the game is traditional death metal.

The Brimstone Aggrandizement is their second album and as such, very unsurprising one. This 30+ minutes offers eight songs that are carved from the very same wood. There are no oddities, exceptions and whatnot, but real, old-school death metal. The stuff is somewhat fast mid-tempo and as such sort of comfort zone death metal. When you hear the first song, you pretty much know the rest. But no complaints here, since there are no clear weak points here, either.

The prodcution is solid as is the vocal work by mister Ingram. However, since the album is quite simple in all its glory, it can get a tad boring after a few spins. Despite that, The Brimstone Aggrandizement is quite an okay album all in all.

Track list:
1. Plague of the Altruistic
2. The Forbidden Industry
3. Lex Talionis
4. Of Warlocks and Wolves
5. The Brimstone Aggrandizement
6. Vital Existence
7. The Feared Religion
8. Monsters in the Gene Pool/Sonic Vortex