Press release:
CALVIN: If people sat outside and looked at the stars each night, I’ll bet they’d live a lot differently.
HOBBES: How so?
CALVIN: Well, when you look into infinity, you realize that there are more important things than what people do all day.”

This quote from Bill Watterson’s iconic comic strip “Calvin and Hobbes”, resumes accurately Dephosphorus’ intentions.

With 6 vinyl releases spanning from 2011 to 2015, the Athenians are embarked on a cosmic quest. Their concept and aesthetics draw influences from cosmology, astronomy and science fiction literature, as well as the associated sociopolitical and existential repercussions.
Being impossible to describe their music style by using one or two genre references, they have chosen to call it “astrogrind”.

“Impossible Orbits” is DEPHOSPHORUS’ 3rd album and their darker and more violent effort to date – both musically and lyrically. Its 9 tracks clocking at under 30’, see them return to a more condensed form of expression, not unlike their critically acclaimed “Axiom” debut mini-LP.

The similarities with the latter do not stop there, as Panos Alexiadis is again on board handling the live electronics and putting an extra eerie touch to the record’s atmosphere.

Check out the first excerpt, “Rational Reappraisal”, which can be streamed at Selfmadegod Records SoundCloud or YouTube channel, as well as DEPHOSPHORUS’ Bandcamp page.
“Impossible Orbits” has been recorded and mixed analogically at Unreal Studios. The artwork has been hand drawn by Viral Graphics.

Notorious grindcore label from Poland, Selfmadegod Records, will release CD and cassette version on June 15th 2017. Digital copies will be available directly though the band’s Bandcamp page. A vinyl edition will follow later this year.

1.Above The Threshold 03:18
2.Micro-Aeons Of Torment 03:07
3.Rational Reappraisal 02:58
4.Αστερόσκονη (Asteroskoni) 02:39
5.Impossible Orbits 01:29
6.Imagination Is Future History 02:55
7.The Light Of Ancient Mistakes 02:59
8.Suspended In A Void Universe 01:46
9.Blessed In A Hail 02:53

Thanos Mantas – guitars
Panos Agoros – vocals
John Votsis – drums
Costas Ragiadakos – bass

2011: “Axiom” mini-LP – 7 Degrees Records (DE)
2012: split-7″EP with GREAT FALLS (USA) – Hell Comes Home (IE/CH)
2012: “Night Sky Transform” LP – 7 Degrees Records (DE)
2012: split-7″EP with WAKE (CA) – 7 Degrees Records (DE)
2014: “Ravenous Solemnity” 2xLP – 7 Degrees Records (DE) / Handshake Inc. (CA)
2015: Collaboration LP with HAAPOJA (FIN) – 7 Degrees Records (DE) / Handshake Inc. (CA) / Nerve Altar (USA)
2017: Impossible Orbits CD/Tape – Selfmadegod Records (Poland)

“Transcending Boring, Old-Fashioned, Biological Life”