The Infernal Gospels of Primitive Devil Worship
Pulverised Records

TLDR: Raw necrosound black metal from Norway.

Review: Norwegian musician Trondr Nefas was mostly known for his work in Urgehal, yet during his 30+ years he was creative with many other bands as well.

One of these was Beastcraft, founded in 2003, that concluded its reign around 2013. During its existence Beastcraft was a very active band that recorded plenty of material. Some of it was previously unreleased, but is now out through The Infernal Gospels of Primitive Devil Worship album. Basically this one is a collection of demo songs or otherwise previously unreleased tracks.

Typically I’d rate this kind of collections to be trashed, for many of the demo materials are nothing but money baits. But this one is actually good – for me it’s one of the best black albums thus far in 2017. Even though this one ain’t nowhere near Urgehal’s best moments, it’s clear that Nefas had a lot of talent for other bands as well.

The Infernal Gospels of Primitive Devil Worship is an album with necro sounds, raw black metal and unpolished compositions. It’s one of those lo-fi black metal albums that make an impact by being harsh, unapologetic and simply vicious. The vocals are raw and primitive. The general feeling reminds me of early Darkthrone albums with all its goodness. And at the same time it reminds me of Urgehal, too.

I can’t say for sure if The Infernal Gospels of Primitive Devil Worship would’ve been a better album with better production, but actually it doesn’t matter since the album works well as it is. Should you have access to the digibook version of the album, get it, since it has bonus material such as interviews, rehearsals and live recordings.

Track list:
1. Aapenbaring
2. Demonic Perversion
3. Deathcraft and Necromancy
4. The Fall of the Impotent God
5. Her Highness of Hell
6. Reborn Beyond the Grave
7. Waging War on the Heavens
8. The Devil’s Triumph
9. The Beast Descends