Fear Those Who Fear Him
Century Media

TLDR: Old-school death metal gone dark and very heavy.

Review: Guitarist Gregor Mackintosh is mostly known for his work with Paradise Lost. Since that one kinda gave its death metal away after early 90’s, I guess it comes to as no surprise that mister Mackintosh yearned for some old-school death metal after all those years. Surely, Paradise Lost’s late albums have gone to that direction as well, but not as deep as Vallenfyre.

Third album by this band, Fear Those Who Fear Him is still heavy as fuck and dark as night. It’s some good old death metal with heavy-tuned guitars and thick growling vocals. At the same time it reminds old Swedish death metal as well as early Paradise Lost, that is mostly Gothic and its follow-up. Even though the album is not exactly original nor catchy, the album is quite dynamic and goes from mid-tempo to fast and back. There are nothing extra or stuff that doesn’t belong to this kind of death metal. In essence, Fear Those Who Fear Him is very pure album.

There are not much things to complain, really. I love the production and the songs are solid. Then again it’s not one of those albums that has some memorable tracks. It may be well-balanced, yet there are no peak moments either. Despite this, Fear Those Who Fear Him is one of the best death metal albums this year – along with Cut Up’s sophomore album and Memoriam’s debut. Be sure to give this one a listen.

Track list:
1. Born to Decay
2. Messiah
3. Degeneration
4. An Apathetic Grave
5. Nihilist
6. Amongst the Filth
7. Kill All Your Masters
8. The Merciless Tide
9. Dead World Breathes
10. Soldier of Christ
11. Cursed from the Womb
12. Temple of Rats