Dreadful Life
Inverse Records

TLDR: Dark death metal that does its thing by the book.

Review: After a couple of quite good demos, this Finnish band has finally put out their debut album. Released already in February, this dark death metal album hasn’t changed much from the band’s demo times. Unfortunately this also applies to the production.

If that can be forgiven, there is not too much to complain about really. The music shifts between fast-tempo and more mid-tempo stuff. Occasional guitar melodies swirl the soup just enough to make a difference.

Since there are no clear weak links on the album, it can be asked so what’s missing then. And the answer would be quite simply: originality, catchiness and shit that makes you jizz in your pants. In other words: there are no killer tracks. Now, if you’re not into those memorable hits, like most of us are, then it doesn’t matter. But if you are… well, Dreadful Life can be seen as a minor disappointment.

The guitar solos do their job just fine as is the case with the growling vocals. Yet again, nothing to bitch about. Even though Dreadful Life isn’t exactly the album of the year, it’s clearly one of the better death metal albums this year.

Track list:
1. Death Works Overtime
2. Sewers of This World
3. Leap of Faith
4. Life and Dread
5. Downward Spiral
6. Reaching Out
7. Ravaged
8. Return to the Grave