Universal Music

TLDR: Rammstein’s Paris live is visually stunning, but thin in content.

Review: Rammstein is probably the most successful industrial metal to this date. This is mostly based on their wild and majestic live shows where pyrotechnics, various live costumes and many props are something way beyond regular metal live show stuff. This is also the reason why there are so many Rammstein dvd and blu-ray releases out there. Some might say too many since they are not that different from each other. Unfortunately, Paris is no exception, even if it has a few cards up in its sleeve.

Paris has been directed by Grammy-winner Jonas Åkerlund. He has also directed many Rammstein videos and lots of other cool stuff, so he’s the man to do this kind of project, too. In theory Paris is something new, even on Rammstein standards. It has nice little tricks here and there, whether they are cool black and white filters akin to old tv-sets or some special effects that create sort of magic on the live show. The edits and cuts are clever, too, so in that sense Paris is top notch production.

The downside is that there’s hardly anything new. Since the band hasn’t put out an album since 2009, there are no new songs or anything special you haven’t heard before – that is, if you have seen Rammstein play live or one of their live dvds and blu-rays in past few years. Also, the making-of kinda sucks. It’s only 13 mins long and it’s not exactly interesting. Compared to Rammstein’s couple of years’ old Amerika dvd, this bonus content is really poor.

To sum it up: if you’re a fan of the band and already have some other life stuff by the band, Paris is next to useless. If you’re not of the fan, I’m not sure why you’re even reading this review. Only if you’re a hardcore fan of the band or sort of a collector, then this is a must-have for you. Or if you are a new fan and haven’t seen them live nor a live dvd/blu-ray before, sure, then this is a great way to get entertained by the band. For us others, watch once and move on.

Track list:
1. Intro
2. Sonne
3. Wollt Ihr Das Bett in Flammen Sehen
4. Keine Lust
5. Sehnsucht
6. Asche Zu Asche
7. Feuer Frei!
8. Mutter
9. Mein Teil
10. Du Riechst So Gut
11. Links 2 3 4
12. Du Hast
13. Haifisch
14. Bück Dich
15. Mann Gegen Mann
16. Ohne Dich
17. Mein Herz Brennt
18. Amerika
19. Ich Will
20. Engel
21. Pussy
21. Frühling in Paris